Patricia and Matt Brown

matt-and-tricia-825x340Tricia-OHS-468x600

Name:  Patricia Brown

Family:  Husband – Matt, Son – Ethan, Son – Peanut #2, Dog – Kona

Length of time at TTS:  1 year and 8 months

Favorite program(s) at TTS:  CF, TTFit, & Yoga!

  1. What is your favorite athletic/fitness memory or achievement?

Before crossfit, I would have to say in high school when I was voted captain for our soccer team my senior year and was awarded 1st Team All State and Regional Defensive MVP both junior and senior year.

Now doing crossfit, I would say my first set of pull-ups, DUBs, or handstand push-ups. Never thought those movements would be a successful part of a workout consistently.

But recently, is that I am still running, jumping, and lifting 30 weeks pregnant. I am proud of myself and my body that I am strong physically and mentally to keep pushing each day. I am also grateful for my TTS family for keeping me positive and encouraging me!    

  1. Name one goal you hope to achieve this year at T-Town South Fitness?

When I come back post-baby, I want to continue my strides for improving in all aspects of CF (muscle up hopefully by 2016 maybe) and to be mentally strong and confident with my new body. 

  1. What workout or movement do you look forward to the most?

DUBs, shoulder press, bench press, and air squats. I can kill some air squats!

Just for giggles, I hate wall balls, lunges, and toes-to-bar!

  1. What would surprise people most about you?

I love to make people laugh and am a bit OCD. I color code my calendar, I roll my clothes instead of fold, I always untie my shoes when I take them off, I think my elbows are too pointy, I drove a blue Volkswagon Beetle for 13 years and loved it, I make Matt practice intruder/fire drills, I whine when I am cold or hungry, and I am very indecisive like when I buy clothing and let it sit in the shopping bag for about a month trying it on every 3-4 days to make sure I like it.

  1. What are your favorite activities & hobbies?

I love being a mommy to my rambunctious & adorable son Ethan (2 years old) and soon to be son #2 in June. Right now, his favorite things for us to do together are kicking and throwing balls, going on walks with Kona (our dog), playing at the park, puzzles, and reading books. It melts my heart every time he smiles/hugs/kisses me because I know I am doing something right.

Spending time with my husband, Matt, is also always a blessing. We love to try new restaurants, see movies, play board games with friends, cook, ride bikes, snowboard, travel, etc. We also really like to play ping pong, but Matt found out the hard way how awesome I am at it.  

When it is just me, I enjoy hanging out with girlfriends, singing in the car, eating ice cream, working on Pinterest projects and playing soccer. I have played my whole life and I am still part of a competitive women’s league. I will start back for the Fall Season of 2015 after I pop this kid out.

Matt-and-Tricia-mugs-450x600 Matt-Ski-600x450

Name: Matt Brown

Family: Wife – Tricia, Children – Ethan and one on the way

Length of time at TTS: 1 year 8 months

Favorite program(s) at TTS (i.e. yoga, TTFIT, CF, HH, etc): The 5:05am CF class and HH

  1. What is your favorite athletic/fitness memory or achievement?

When I finally hit a 315# bench press in college, even though my squat max was probably 2/3 that. I did leg day at least twice a year. Since I started CF it would probably be when I could finally string a lot of double-unders together. Because of all the rope marks, people were starting to wonder if Tricia was beating me.

  1. Name one goal you hope to achieve this year at T-Town South Fitness?  

How about two…I hope to be able to handstand walk (it’s kind of my kryptonite) and improve my jerk form. My jerk is more of a push press.

  1. What workout or movement do you look forward to the most?

Deadlift, HSPUs, and Bench Press. Still waiting for Dave Castro to realize what the Open is really missing…a little Bench Press action!

  1. What would surprise people most about you?

I’m a bit of a foodie and I love to cook. I also love to eat, a lot, but especially spicy food. I haven’t met a spicy dish that I couldn’t handle. I’m trying to work up the nerve to do the Incinerator Pizza challenge at Joe Momma’s. I’m kind of a sucker for food challenges.

  1. What are your favorite activity/hobbies?

I love to hang out with my family, for the most part, with my time off from work. However, when they get tired of me I tend to dabble in snowboarding, wake surfing, drinking good beer and bourbon, and obviously Crossfit! I would actually love to own a microbrewery but I’ll settle for making my own at home.